Tamed

The first two months of my career as an employee are memorable not just for me, but also for all those who then sat around my desk. I was assigned a place next to my anchor/TL who is famous around here as ‘the delegator’. He was assigned the task of molding me from being a market-novice to some kind of an expert. Bah! High hopes! I spent the first day telling my anchor how clueless I was about my job profile and the responsibilities entailed to it. I scrutinized his career graph and asked him a zillion times if he thought I was in the right place, doing the right thing.

A fresh recruit is usually asked to read, without being assigned any work on the first day of joining in my organization. Contrary to this norm, I was flooded with an urgent project on my day one!

After my email account was set up, I checked my mail, only to be disappointed-  The dress code was formal. Sigh! 😦

I restlessly looked around, wondering why everyone was so quiet?! The place somehow reminded me of a prison. The girl on my right seemed so involved in whatever she was doing. I quietly asked her I could access facebook. She said, “Yeah.. But be careful.” I thought, “Careful? About what? ”

The highlight of the day was something my anchor says, he will never forget in his life. I finished my work at around 4-ish. I sent him an update and jumped up saying, “Yes! I’m done! Can I leave now?”.

“No. You have to stay here till 5:30 atleast,” he said.

“Please?””

“No.”

“Please pleeeeeeease?? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaseee????” I was poking poor Suri with my pen now :p

“Look, the office timings are 9 to 6. I am letting you go at 5:30 today. It’s not even 4:30 yet. I’m sorry, but I can’t let you go.”

“Please Suriiiiiiiiiiii…….suri suri suriiiiiiii… Pleeeeeeaseeeeee….”

“Ask the manager”

I knew the cute puppy face I was making wasn’t getting me what I wanted.

I sent a string of messages to my ex-college friends, cribbing about the prison and it’s quiet prisoners.

All this didn’t dampen my spirits. I continued trying to sneak out of office with every possible real/fake reason. This effort continued for two whole months, after which I realized that there was no escape from this dungeon 😛

Seven months down the line, I am now, like the other prisoners here-I am tamed.

8 comments

  1. Bah Bah! · February 10, 2011

    Ha! reading this first thing that comes to my mind is…

    Q : Why are you talking so slowly? y cannt u talk normally while sitting in your cubical?
    A: You will know once you start working… 😛

    I hope now you know now how it feels to be tamed. and m sure u r working your a@# off day and night to be the best one in the so called dungeon….

    • ishmasiddiqi · February 20, 2011

      Ha ha! Well said my dear…I do remember all that.. It’s the “6 pm motivation” that keeps me going all day now.. I hope u got what I mean 😉

  2. Shivani · February 21, 2011

    Hola !!

    It made a superb read.. and its such a relief to know I’m not the only one in this loath-the-workplace category 😛

    • ishmasiddiqi · February 21, 2011

      Of Course u aren’t SHivani! Everyone complains, yet no one has a choice 😛

  3. Nath · March 21, 2011

    Now.. i giuess u know y i asked u to wait till 5:30.. 😛

    • ishmasiddiqi · March 21, 2011

      Yeah yeah Suri.. I sure know what you meant! You read this one real fast 😉

  4. Aashith · May 20, 2011

    stumbled on this from Surendra’s FB account.. is that why you asked me to wait till 5.30 too?? Vicious circle continues.. 😛

Leave a Reply

