Ira – 6

“What??!” That was the best I could come up with in that moment of disbelief. However, my tone summed up all that I was feeling.

“Ira..I am shit scared. I don’t know what to do…I feel numb…”

Nihas was a sensible guy who wouldn’t play nasty, unnecessary pranks. Even if he could, his voice told me that every word that he uttered is true. But then, who would want to accept such truth without questioning? “Not funny! I am not in the mood for crappy humor Nihas.”

“Ira yaar, please believe me.. I am serious. I was speeding way too much today…I have driven on that road so many times, but it had been dug up this time and I didn’t know…I lost control of the car and it hit the side of a tunnel. Vikram suffered terrible injuries and……Ira, an hour later..he succumbed to them…” He broke into another fit of sobs.

These things happen in the movies, or in other people lives. We are usually the person ‘X’, listening to such heart wrenching stories in which a friends’ best friend dies.  Such horrible things cannot happen to us!

Nihas was a reckless on roads. Frankly, this was the first thought that crossed my mind. I have been subjected to his rash driving skills and have always wished he would be a little cautious. Time and again, he’s been advised by family and friends to mellow down a little on the road, but never did he pay heed. I tried a couple of times too, but you know how the male ego functions!

For a moment, I tried hard to escape the truth that had been laid out for me. I didn’t know what exactly I was feeling. It was anger, denial or may be both.

As usual, I didn’t know how to react. Logically, Nihas indeed had killed Vikram. But girlfriends are supposed to console and pacify, not rub in the ugly truth.

What am I supposed to say to him – It’s alright. Death can’t be undone. Just don’t do it again??!!

Leave a Reply

